The Lupus Association of Tasmania is a self-funded non-profit organisation served by volunteers.

We are committed to understanding and supporting people with Lupus, Sjögren’s, Scleroderma, Fibromyalgia or any auto-immune disease in the following ways:

  • By educating and informing patients and their families.
  • By providing support in the form of encouragement and service.
  • By promoting and supporting research designed to discover the cause of, and a cure for, lupus and related auto-immune diseases. 
  • To read our Patron and President’s messages, please click here
  • For information on Lupus, Sjögren’s syndrome, Fibromyalgia syndrome, and Scleroderma, please click here.
  • To make a donation and support your local organisation and research, please click here.
  • To contact the Lupus Association of Tasmania, please click here.

Established 1st December, 1999.

hartasWe have been most fortunate to have had two outstanding couples devote an extraordinary amount of their lives to im- proving the outcomes for people with LUPUS. On behalf of all present and past members I wish to thank Bruce and Col- leen McCormack and Vic and Denise Hartas for their out- standing work in building the Lupus Association of Tasmania.

bruce colleenDuring their commitment over the years, individually and collectively they have worked on all aspects of our organiza- tion. The skill they have brought to all their roles is far reaching and enormous; President, secretary, treasurer, com- mittee member, regional co-ordinator, mentor, educator, publicists, conference and Lupus awareness week organis- ers, fundraisers research co-ordinator, political advocate, li- brary and information gather and dispenser, caterers (dishwashers), and general organisers extraordinaire.

Having made this list I smile as I think that I am sure they could add a few more roles that I might have overlooked. They will certainly be missed and our supporters have rallied to fill the gap. We wish them all better health and time to enjoy retirement. Whenever you can we will still welcome your input and participation.

We wish them the very best.

They will be our friends for ever. President: Lois Beckwith